New 30km/h speed limits in Dublin City

We are delighted with the Dublin City Council proposals for more 30 km/h speed limits in the City. The 30 km/h limit already introduced to residential areas will be expanded to include most of the arterial routes, including many urban villages like Phibsborough, Rathmines and Ranelagh.

The proposals also provide for a default 30 km/h speed limit with any higher limits being the exception. This is a paradigm shift from the current bye-laws where the default limit is 50 km/h with 30 km/h considered a “special speed limit”. The default 30 km/h makes Dublin a leader not just nationally, but internationally, as not many European cities have default 30 km/h limits.

We hope other Irish Local Authorities will follow Dublin’s lead. The proposals were agreed by the Traffic and Transport Strategic Policy Committee on Wednesday and will be put to a full Council Meeting next Monday, 8th June. They will then be issued for public consultation in July. It is hoped to have the new limits in place before the end of 2020.

Please contact your local Councillor before Monday 8th June 2020 and urge them to support this important step to improve road safety in the City.